January Training – Week 2

Week 2 of the training plan has been good, my body still gets a bit exhausted from all the training, can’t wait till my body gets used to pushing, it’s a gradual process so I will just keep at it.

I am still struggling to wake up really early on a Saturday and Sunday mornings for my long runs. I will get there eventually.

Since last weeks’ runs were short and tempo pace, I did most of them at gym and then I either did spinning class or some strength training afterwards. I didn’t do a long run on the weekend since I was taking part in the 3 peak challenge, I got a good workout. Devils peak was brutal on the legs with the massive incline towards the top, if felt like I was climbing up a never-ending sand dune. My muscles are still a bit stiff, they loosened a bit after my Monday Morning 5km run. I love the views that come with hikes in my city. (Pictures below). The next 3 peaks challenge will take place on the weekend of 12th May

20170114_093824
When you are tired but realise there is a steep incline to the top

 

 

20170114_121800
Thank you to the 3 peak challenges organisers for an awesome time

This week’s plan (week 3)january-2017-training is still short run ( 5-7 km)) and speed runs, I will be running them on the road, I don’t want to use the treadmill too much.

My next race will be the Lion of Africa Half Marathon on the 4 February, the race takes place in Constantia, there are a few hills that I will need to prepare for. It’s 2 and a half weeks away. Hope to see you there.

See you on the road!

Leave a Reply

